Contact Us (03) 6397 7303

Longford (& surrounding areas including Bishopsbourne, Toiberry & Liffey)

Residents, representatives from community interest groups, organisations and local business owners are invited to apply for membership of a District Committees.

As a Special Committee of Council, members will be appointed and meet in accordance with the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU).

This Committee meets on a …

It should be noted that:

  • the MOU has recently been reviewed and endorsed at the 18 March 2024 Council meeting
  • membership is subject to registration as a Council Volunteer, which includes the requirement to provide evidence of Working with Vulnerable People registration.

Click on this link to access Applications for membership and MOU's for each of the District Committees .

Hard copy membership application forms are available on request by emailing or phoning 03-63977303.

For further information in relation to this District Committee contact Executive Officer Vivien Tan.


When: First Wednesday of the Month (including January)

Time: 5:30pm

Venue: Longford RSL Club

Frequency: Monthly

Chairperson: Timothy Flanagan

Meeting Dates 2024

The following dates have been set for 2024 meetings:

  • 10 January (not first Wednesday)
  • 7 February
  • 6 March
  • 10 April (not first Wednesday)
  • 1 May
  • 5 June
  • 3 July
  • 7 August
  • 4 September
  • 2 October
  • 6 November
  • 4 December



  1. Timothy Flanagan (Chairman)
  2. Dennis Pettyfor (Deputy Chairman)
  3. Neil Tubb
  4. Bron Baker
  5. Doug Bester
  6. Joanne Clarke
  7. Peter Munro
  8. Annette Aldersea

    Council Representative

    • Dick Adams (Councillor)
    • Matthew Brooks (Councillor)


    • Annette Aldersea

    Council Contact

    • Vivien Tan
    Meeting Minutes
    Sub Committees
    Norfolk Plains History Committee
    Longford Railway Sesquicentenary Committee

    The Longford Railway Sesquicentenary Committee was established as a sub-committee of the Longford Local District Committee in 2019 to celebrate the sesquicentenary of the Longford Rail Bridge.

    The committee hosted an event in February 2021 to commemorate the occasion.

    News/ History

    Examiner 10 May 2020


    • Cr Dick Adams (Chair)
    • Len Langan
    • Nigel Burch
    • John Stebbings
    • Gayle McLucas
    • Roderick Cuthbert
    • TasRail Representative